Skip to content

At the risk of bragging…

January 11, 2011

…I’ve been, for the past week, aboard a ship in the Caribbean, going something like this:

The brunette, hair streaming in the wind, is the king of the world.

Now, given the nature of this cruise, I could do enough name-dropping and self-touting to make you want to slit my lovely, silken throat open, so, instead, I’ll tell you this…

Every minimalist knows that it’s a terrible idea to own a boat.  They cost a lot to store and to maintain, and given the nature of our busy lives, it’s rare that we’ll actually take our boats (which take up a lot of space and require lots of extra gear) onto the water.  Therefore, we, knowledgeable life-designers that we are, rent our boats, or wheedle our way onto to the boats of others.

Despite all of that, I have decided that, since last week’s experience was SO INCREDIBLY GOOD, that I’m going to remodel my house and turn it into a cruise ship.

The brunette orders her gang of frisson slaves to the deck.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 11, 2011 7:40 am

    Actually, it’s a very minimalist thing to do to own a boat, if you LIVE on it and sell everything else, which is what my aunt & uncle did more than ten years ago. They’re still sailing.

    • January 11, 2011 7:42 am

      Whoa, cool!

      You know, it’s a sign of how very not-awake I am that the first thing I typed was “Whoa, kill!”–which is definitely not what I mean. I need more coffee.

      Your aunt and uncle must be RAD.

  2. Emily permalink
    January 22, 2011 5:58 am

    Yes, dark overmistress. Can I be a minimalist blog buddy? Pleaseeeee?

Leave a Reply

