Skip to content

Look.

January 20, 2011

I became a minimalist so that I’d have time to do things like watch snails crawl with slow grace. They’re amazing little creatures. I call the iridescent streaks that they leave behind them fairy trails.  When I watch them, I become mesmerized by their deliberateness, their sluggish pace of life.  Harbingers of the slow movement, they leave meditative-ness in their wake.

And I’d be having a much better time if you weren’t always trying to tag along, ordinary gray stone who is not my pet rock!

The brunette watches a snail.  A rock watches the brunette.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. January 20, 2011 7:08 am

    I’m still working on this 10-days meme; feel free to play along. I’ve been loving Robin’s responses. =)

    Day Three: Eight ways to win your heart.

    1. Pet my hair.
    2. Feed me spicy nacho cheese and corn chips.
    3. Make me coffee in the morning.
    4. Gaze into my eyes.
    5. Be gentle when I don’t deserve it.
    7. Keep trying, even when I don’t deserve it.
    8. Suddenly, in a fit of whimsy or passion, DO something!

    Day One: Ten things you want to say to ten different people right now.
    Day Two: Nine things about yourself.
    Day Three: Eight ways to win your heart.
    Day Four: Seven things that cross your mind a lot.
    Day Five: Six things you wish you’d never done.
    Day Six: Five people who mean a lot (in no order whatsoever)
    Day Seven: Four turn-offs.
    Day Eight: Three turn-ons.
    Day Nine: Two images that describe your life right now, and why.
    Day Ten: One confession.

    • January 20, 2011 3:14 pm

      Thanks. 🙂 I figure it’s the least I can do since I’m enjoying your blog so much.

      Eight ways to win my heart:

      1. Make me laugh. And laugh with me.
      2. Smile in that way that reaches not just the eyes, but the soul.
      3. Cook for me once in a while. It’s the thought that counts so don’t stress over it. I’d settle for (and thoroughly enjoy) a PB&J as long as it’s made with love.
      4. Spend lots of time outdoors with me. The beach, the mountains, the woods, or just out in the backyard.
      5. Forgive me when I do something stupid (the kind of stupid that needs forgiving).
      6. Hold my hand, even when I don’t need it (and especially when I do!).
      7. Distract me when I’m afraid.
      8. Be comfortable in silence.

      • January 20, 2011 3:15 pm

        P.S. I’m enjoying your answer as well. It’s an interesting way to get to know a little about you.

      • January 20, 2011 3:17 pm

        Yaaaaaay! It’s awesome trading answers with you. =) This is fun!

  2. January 20, 2011 12:42 pm

    A fellow snail-lover !!!! *\o/*

  3. January 20, 2011 1:07 pm

    I wonder if I can embed video in a comment?

    • January 20, 2011 1:08 pm

      Okay, apparently, yes I can. This laughing child caused my ovaries to become all powerful beings. They dragged me to the nearest man and forced me to have my way with him.

  4. mrchattaway permalink
    January 20, 2011 1:14 pm

    I feel like I have become complicit in a crime here!
    But on a separate note, top blog…minimalism is the way forward. Stuff is holding me prisoner…I am weak against the shiny.

  5. January 20, 2011 1:35 pm

    It’s all so Zen!

  6. January 20, 2011 3:04 pm

    I like that idea (of “snail” beating “rock”). I like snails too. 🙂

    • January 20, 2011 3:18 pm

      Seriously, right? They can be so gorgeous.

      • dhaami permalink
        January 21, 2011 6:35 pm

        Can I play a day late?

        Eight ways to win my heart

        1. laugh .. a lot and make me laugh
        2. allow me to see who you are and play no games
        3. be passionate about something..anything..
        4. make me breakfast
        5. be a great handyman (pun intended?)
        6. go for long drives with me
        7. call me at 2am just because you were thinking of me
        8. call me out on my *whatever stupidity I’ve undertaken that’s making your life miserable* but then hug me to make it better

Leave a Reply

