Skip to content

How to have fun when you’re a minimalist

January 22, 2011

As a hardcore minimalist, I often ask myself the following question:

What’s more fun than spending money?

 

Minimalism is ALL ABOUT clearing away obstacles.  You have less stuff so you’re not forced to work as much, so you have time to DO FUN STUFF. Obviously.  And I’m like seriously into having fun.

But the thing is, spending money isn’t all that. Minimalists are NOT flagrant consumers. Therefore, they are experts at having fun for free.

Let’s think about it.  I’ll sort through the fun options, using myself as example.

Well.  I like going to amusement parks.

The brunette and her Frissons happily ride a 'coaster.

But amusement parks cost money. Lots of money. So they’re really not a perfect example of how to have fun as a minimalist.

Annnnnnd I like going to movies:

The brunette watches a movie.

But going to movies is essentially like gently placing my money on the tongue of THE MAN, so, um.  I’ll come up with something different.

And I totally adore pigging out at a restaurant!

The brunette orders food at a restaurant.

But then the man is putting stuff on MY tongue, and that’s just gross.

Enough of that.

I should spend time hugging my Frissons (seriously fun!), or culling more stuff from my house (which has a cunning red door).  The world has things enough.

(STIRRING MUSIC BEGINS.)

It’s time to cut back on consumption (seriously fun!), reallocate our resources to serve the common good (a riotous good time!), and spend more time feeding our creativity and insights so we can build a better world (which will be hilarious and we’ll totally get wasted together!).

(MUSIC CRESCENDOS!)

We can create beauty together (and sweet, sweet music!).

(MUSIC CLIMAXES! VIOLINS AND TEARS!)

Minimalism is an idea whose time has come, and I am proud to be part of the movement. Also, right now, I am standing up and orating in a stately fashion.  Tear-stricken listeners are carving my statue from the rock of the mountain. Also they are having lots of fun.

(The music ceases; the magic of the moment is held as a fermata rests longingly over a single quarter rest, and then the moment gently dies.)

OR.

Or I could buy this incredible teal vase.

The brunette gazes adoringly at a vase.

23 Comments leave one →
  1. January 22, 2011 5:18 am

    Damn.. why is there not a “Love this post” button?? You should totally make one. I will press it now and then. *pokes thin air*

  2. January 22, 2011 8:39 am

    I’m totally continuing this ten days meme. Now I’m on day five–but if you’d like to play along, feel free to pick up wherever you are. Hi Robin!

    Day Five: Six things you wish you’d never done.

    1. I wish I’d never combed my baby sister’s hair roughly.
    2. I wish I’d never told my mother not to sing.
    3. I wish I’d never sprained my wrist.
    4. I wish I’d never let myself be intimidated or put down.
    5. I wish I’d never let myself become meek.
    6. I wish I’d never let down my friends.

    Day One: Ten things you want to say to ten different people right now.
    Day Two: Nine things about yourself.
    Day Three: Eight ways to win your heart.
    Day Four: Seven things that cross your mind a lot.
    Day Five: Six things you wish you’d never done.
    Day Six: Five people who mean a lot (in no order whatsoever)
    Day Seven: Four turn-offs.
    Day Eight: Three turn-ons.
    Day Nine: Two images that describe your life right now, and why.
    Day Ten: One confession.

    • January 22, 2011 2:10 pm

      lol! Hi. I was going to comment on your post first but there ya go…

      Six things I wish I’d never done.

      1. I wish I’d never been put in the dumb math group when I was in the 5th grade.
      2. I wish I’d never done some of the things I did as a teen.
      3. I wish I’d never disappointed someone very important.
      4. I wish I’d never hurt anyone.
      5. I wish I’d never missed my mother’s moment of death by just a day.
      6. I wish I’d never wished I’d never.

  3. January 22, 2011 11:05 am

    This is pure genius! BRAVO!

  4. January 22, 2011 1:03 pm

    Love it. Thank you for making me laugh every morning … for free. 🙂

  5. Christine permalink
    January 22, 2011 1:36 pm

    Regarding that statue…I am searching for my chisel as we speak. I could use a little of this “stately oration” every day…clever and hilarious!

  6. January 22, 2011 2:13 pm

    I was thinking as I read this that I used to be the Best Minimalist and I didn’t know it! When my husband was in grad school we had pretty much nothing (except each other and our oldest son), and we did lots of fun stuff. All for free.

    Aside from that, since this isn’t all about me, I loved it. As usual. You are brilliant.

    • January 25, 2011 10:56 am

      When my to-become-my-husband was in grad school, I think we played a lot of video games. He’s actually much more authentically a minimalist than I am, although he doesn’t label himself as such. He just intuitively knows how to relate to his things; curse him. I, on the other hand, am a learned minimalist, so I struggle lots.

  7. January 22, 2011 6:45 pm

    oh, i love this. the tension between owning and not owning, buying and not buying, consuming and not consuming – you really have captured it in a funny and lovely way. i especially like the pics!
    i’m really happy i wasn’t drinking milk as i read this – it would have come out my nose…

  8. January 23, 2011 6:40 am

    I adore you.

  9. January 23, 2011 1:57 pm

    Thank you Magnificent Minimalist.

  10. Emily permalink
    January 23, 2011 2:34 pm

    Day 5:
    1. I wish I’d never put off getting a rabbit
    2. I wish I’d never been so harsh to friends
    3. I wish I’d never read a different blog before this one
    4. I wish I’d never stopped making music though i’ve picked it back up now.
    5. I wish I’d never regretted anything
    6. I wish I’d never chosen chicken over pie at school

  11. January 24, 2011 11:13 am

    does it not count to do the fun things you love if you find ways to do it cheaper??

    or

    what if after cutting out all the excess (sp) ?? if you decide you really would LOVE to expose your body to too many G forces than go for it?

    just was wondering on your thoughts.

    I am having riotous fun de cluttering and hoarding dumb things like a squirrell.

    thanks for the smiles and inspiration

    • January 25, 2011 10:19 am

      I’d say that just about anything counts, because our relationship with money and things is so intensely personal.

  12. January 25, 2011 6:00 am

    Laughed so hard that I scared other people… Fantastic fun!

Leave a Reply

