Skip to content

You think that you’re safe

January 24, 2011

I see you there, least-favorite of my coffee cups.Β  You think that because you loiter behind closed cabinet doors, all nonchalant and seemingly useful, that you have evaded my notice.

A purple coffee cup sits in a cabinet. It is pretending to be a useful object.

You think wrong, oh porcelain one. I have espied you, and noted how little I use you. YOU, coffee cup of mine, are not as safe as you might think.

The brunette espies the coffee cup.

You will not know when, and you will not know how, but know this coffee cup: you are marked.

The purple coffee cup is marked for death.

28 Comments leave one →
  1. January 24, 2011 7:33 am

    :O I’m beginning to suspect you’re a Not-So-Peaceful Minimalist after all….

  2. January 24, 2011 11:09 am

    I have been looking at my not so much used cups last week too.

    hehehehee
    I love your posts.

    • January 25, 2011 10:10 am

      *laugh* In real life, I have an entire platoon of unused coffee cups sitting in my garage. I finally whittled my in-the-house collection to a bevy of all-white porcelain numbers in different shapes and sizes, plus my three favorite colorful or carved cups. It’s really kind of fun to open a cupboard and to see a matching array of cups; it’s all aesthetically pleasing and stuff.

  3. dhaami permalink
    January 24, 2011 11:24 am

    I hear you going ‘Mwahahaha’ in my head… you are a crazy one πŸ™‚

  4. January 24, 2011 12:20 pm

    HAHAHAHAHA!! My house is the refuge of the unused cup. πŸ™‚

    • January 25, 2011 10:11 am

      In real life, I have SUCH a hard time not wanting to buy more cups. I think that cups are adorable and captivating, so for years they tended to collect in my house AND I HAVE NO IDEA HOW THAT HAPPENED.

  5. January 24, 2011 12:40 pm

    Day Seven: Four turn-offs.

    1. Cilantro.
    2. Malice.
    3. Ant infestations.
    4. The aloof.

    Day One: Ten things you want to say to ten different people right now.
    Day Two: Nine things about yourself.
    Day Three: Eight ways to win your heart.
    Day Four: Seven things that cross your mind a lot.
    Day Five: Six things you wish you’d never done.
    Day Six: Five people who mean a lot (in no order whatsoever)
    Day Seven: Four turn-offs.
    Day Eight: Three turn-ons.
    Day Nine: Two images that describe your life right now, and why.
    Day Ten: One confession.

  6. January 24, 2011 12:51 pm

    lol! Any chance of commuting that death sentence to banishment?

  7. January 24, 2011 1:02 pm

    I sooo need some coffee cups. I also need a coffee pot but that’s another story. Lol.

    • January 25, 2011 10:12 am

      Oh man. If you were local to me, I’d hand over about a dozen, gladly. They’re all hidden in my garage cupboard, languishing.

  8. January 24, 2011 3:42 pm

    I’ve had three major coffee cups that I’ve used over the years. But I know the feeling of one useless item lurking .

    • January 25, 2011 10:13 am

      I have three favorite coffee cups. One of them is a very large pea-green number, soup-bowl sized, and it has this really pleasant shape to it. The other is a large slender purple thing, and the other is made out of pottery and carved/molded to look like tree bark.

  9. risewiththesun permalink
    January 24, 2011 4:20 pm

    Maybe I’m the only one that’s sympathetic for this poor coffee cup…

    Perfect when guests are over??

  10. January 24, 2011 7:27 pm

    whoa. i think you had better take that mug to a “mug swap” where everyone can bring their least fav mug and trade them away for other ones. stop the violence against mugs.

  11. January 25, 2011 5:11 am

    Hahahahahaha. Love her eyes in the second picture. Poor unsuspecting cup!

  12. January 25, 2011 10:29 am

    πŸ˜€

    Dear Coffee Cup, Do not fear the reaper. There’s always reincarnation via Freecycle.

    I have espied you… lol

  13. January 25, 2011 11:42 am

    OMG – I have a few of these coffee mugs as well – love your art work!

  14. January 25, 2011 6:40 pm

    Thanks for making me laugh πŸ™‚

    Your writing is just lovely.

Leave a Reply

