Skip to content

True Grit and the Magnificent Minimalist

January 30, 2011

I just watched True Grit.

Oh my God, I’ll never use another contraction again in my life. Wait. What?

I was awash in the drama and gorgeous cinematography of it all when it occurred to me: HOLY SMOKES THESE PEOPLE ARE ACTUALLY MINIMALISTS!

Think about it.  They live with as few belongings as they can, and those they do have, they treasure.  They *love* their cornbread and horses.

But not in THAT WAY.

Oh God. Horse love.  This post isn’t going well.

Plus! The whole movie is hinged on ridding the world of one more thing (in this case a human thing), so I’m TOTALLY ALL OVER THAT.

Have a portrait.

 

The brunette watches True Grit and freakin' loves it.

 

(Not planning to switch styles permanently, but I couldn’t draw a black stick figure against a black background.)

 

I’ve never seen such a good example of voice in a movie before; they really did create a sense of place and character through their sentence structure and style.  The only other great voice styles that I’m thinking of come from Joss Whedon and Aaron Sorkin. Those men are gods.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. cheryl permalink
    January 30, 2011 5:51 am

    I have not yet seen True Grit, but these comments of yours are tempting! I totally agree with you about Aaron Sorkin!! I absolutely devour anything and everything that he is involved in creating; he IS all that embodies a truly talented individual !

  2. amb1rd permalink
    January 30, 2011 9:12 am

    Now, I really want to watch True Grit, but I’m afraid of looking at the horses and thinking icky things.

    Haha.

    • January 30, 2011 9:16 am

      Trust me–you REALLY want to watch True Grit. The protagonist is amazing and Al Capone would of her totally approve.

      Also, a few minutes ago I totally thought “It’s dispiriting and disquieting that most of the humor in this post comes from OMG HORSE SEX!”

  3. January 30, 2011 10:56 am

    “True Grit” is a great movie, regardless of the lack of horse sex.

  4. January 30, 2011 12:52 pm

    I rather like that style of body and legs actually! It looks pretty good.

  5. January 30, 2011 7:04 pm

    Horse love – some say that’s the most honest love there is…

  6. phranquelyspeaking permalink
    January 30, 2011 8:25 pm

    Heya! I migrated here from babblesbybex. I LOVE your drawings!

  7. January 31, 2011 12:59 pm

    Sounds awesome, I think me and Mr Karen and going to go see it sans children. Funny thing is, we only seem to make it out of the house for Coen brothers’ films: our last movie date was A Serious Man. We don’t get out much.

  8. February 1, 2011 6:13 am

    Being a fan of the Cohen Brothers, I am looking forward to seeing True Grit. Hopefully soon.

    I never thought of westerns as embodying minimalism. But it’s true…how ’bout that?

  9. February 1, 2011 6:32 pm

    oh and for fun you can chuck corn bread in the air and shoot it!

    LOVED TRUE GRIT.

    and I do think minimizing the world even more of bad dudes is good fun!

    xoxoxo

    I love it here!
    did I tell you?

Leave a Reply

