Skip to content

Who knows what the minimalist will do next? The shadows know.

January 31, 2011

I am afraid of the dark.  Sometimes demons sit on my bed or loiter on the floor, mocking me. Mocking me DEMONICALLY, in a style strangely similar to the way my ex used to sit on the floor and taunt me.

Stupid demonic exes.

This is, in part, why I’m a minimalist. The fewer things on my floor, the fewer mysterious lumps that will abide in the disturbing half-light of my bedroom during the DARK. OF. NIGHT.

The brunette is spooked by the shadows.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. January 31, 2011 7:06 am

    I’m sitting here nursing a cold Diet Coke and a hot sugared coffee, and life is GRAND. By the way, my e-mail address is magnificentminimalist AT gmail DOT com if you’d like to Gtalk all IM style; I have a lazy morning coming up and I plan to PUTTER LIKE THE BLAZES. Join me in my laziness!

    By the way, idrawsometimes has a brilliant post about the Tiger Mom debate–you should, like totally, go read it.

  2. dhaami permalink
    January 31, 2011 9:29 am

    BOO! to demonic exes..
    I’d love to Gtalk all IM style but gotta go to sleep if I plan on making it to work tomorrow :p
    Enjoy the grandness that is ze life

  3. January 31, 2011 9:34 am

    So, forever, I never quite knew what to do with bacon grease. I was like, pour it down the sink! OMG DON’T DO THAT! Um, put it in a tupperware? One time I put it in a tupperware and left it outside in the back yard. It remained outside in the back yard for two years until I picked it up IN ALL OF ITS GROSSNESS and threw it in a garbage can.

    FINALLY I realized that what you do is save it and put it in the fridge and add it to whatever dinner you make next. Today I’m making crockpot ground beef with leftover bacon grease and potatoes and yams and onions, and um, lots of rosemary infused butter, and I want it to be five thirty so I can eat it.

    • January 31, 2011 9:43 pm

      I like that the only two original options were sink or tupperware-in-the-backyard-for-two-years. Like, who would use a bin, anyway?

      I guess the message in all this is that you rid yourself not only of bacon grease, but some excess kitchen clutter. Another win for minimalism 🙂

      • January 31, 2011 10:25 pm

        My options are usually creative and catastrophic and only rarely do they make sense. 😉 But I’m always happy when minimalism wins!

  4. January 31, 2011 3:42 pm

    sorry to hear about those demonic exes.

    you should buy them gym memberships.

  5. January 31, 2011 4:23 pm

    Try poking them? Getting poked in the eye is rather painful after all!

  6. January 31, 2011 10:57 pm

    Dr. Husband just told me how to correct the problem that I’ve been having with bucket fill, so drawing colorful pictures will be much easier now! Yaaaay! He has saved me hours of work!

  7. Emily permalink
    February 1, 2011 5:30 am

    YAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAY! I had this weird gloopy soup and it ended up in the toilet, where it deserved to be.
    Thats an idea! flush the demons down the toilet! thats what i did to the demon soup.

Leave a Reply

