Skip to content

Minimalism and JOY

February 2, 2011

On February 2nd of 1964, G.I. Joe the action figure OSTENSIBLY for boys was launched.  Knowing the manly and burly character of G.I. Joe, they probably launched him out of a cannon into outer space where he fought aliens and orbiting spies before he fell back through the atmosphere (SOMEHOW BEING SO MANLY THAT HE DIDN’T CATCH FIRE) and then fell into the hands of jubilant children all throughout suburbia… and beyond.

 

On this day, I inform you of a different launch.  My launch.  I shall be MAGNIFICENT MINIMALIST UNLEASHED.

The brunette readies herself to be launched from a cannon.

Children, I’m coming for you!

 

26 Comments leave one →
  1. February 2, 2011 5:55 am

    LMAO!!!!! *in stitches, I’m laughing so hard* OMG-thank you! “Hide yo kids, hide yo wife, hide yo husbands cuz magnificent minimalist’s coming after you!” (Antoine Dodson voice)

  2. February 2, 2011 8:22 am

    wow, that’s exactly how i got my fuzzy-headed GI Joe – I was out playing in the snow and something shot sizzling through the side of my snow fort. This was in the early 70’s, so i imagine it’d been in orbit until that moment.

  3. February 2, 2011 12:39 pm

    Too funny!

  4. amb1rd permalink
    February 2, 2011 12:45 pm

    Bwahaha.

    My husband taught me a lot about G.I. Joe (and Transformers, for that matter, but that’s probably irrelevant right this moment…), and I must show this post to him. He too, will most likely bring in the Lulz.

    Run children, Runnnnn.

  5. February 2, 2011 3:31 pm

    I had my wisdom teeth removed today and am totally in a drugged-out haze. Send love!

    • February 2, 2011 3:48 pm

      Ouch… poor you.

      Consider the love sent. Here’s hoping the drugs keep the pain to a minimum. Rest, relax, and heal.

      • February 3, 2011 10:38 am

        Thank you! The morning after is much, much better. Except for the puree diet. And I can’t drink anything hot! MY COFFEEEEEE!

    • February 3, 2011 7:07 pm

      OUCH! I had all four of mine removed at once and had chipmunk cheeks for two weeks. Percocet and Progresso Chix Noodle Soup w/Crushed red peppers was the best diet and sleep inducers I ever had….hope you get better and stop drooling on yourself soon 🙂

      • February 3, 2011 7:53 pm

        Thank you! Chicken noodle soup with peppers sounds AWESOME. I’ve had it up to here with ice cream.

        That’s something I never thought I’d say.

  6. February 2, 2011 5:09 pm

    I had a GI Joe.
    Hands off!

    I have my limits!

    hehehehehehhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhheeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

    how come I am so happy to huck all the crap I deem pointless but my kids’ crap is all….under guard?

    why?

  7. February 2, 2011 6:02 pm

    Yay!

  8. February 2, 2011 6:31 pm

    O__O”

  9. February 2, 2011 6:56 pm

    this is great. sorry to hear about your teeth…

  10. dhaami permalink
    February 2, 2011 8:06 pm

    LOL! That made my morning 😀 .. Love on the way.. meanwhile did did you get to eat icecream for the tooth pain?

    • February 3, 2011 10:40 am

      TOTALLY! I had a strawberry milkshake and I bought chocolate pudding and whipped cream. AND Neopolitan Ice Cream. Nom nom. I also bought soup and Cream of Wheat, but that’s not nearly as exciting.

  11. February 3, 2011 1:13 am

    Man, you take minimalism to the extreme – did you really have to get rid of your widsom teeth too?

  12. Christa permalink
    February 3, 2011 3:08 pm

    LOL, I wish you would get ahold of my kids!

  13. February 3, 2011 6:10 pm

    be afraid, be very afraid!

  14. February 3, 2011 6:54 pm

    Found you ! cant’remember how and it was only minutes ago! Love your stuff.
    I remember getting my wisdom teeth out adn then in my drugged out stupor the dentist asked if I wanted to take them home??? and I did!!. Then when I regained consciouness I threw them way. who want steeth kicking around the place LOL!!!! Hope you feel better ❤

    • February 3, 2011 7:54 pm

      I took one look at the horrific nubs that used to be my teeth and opted NOT to keep them. They were all shameful and stuff!

  15. February 9, 2011 9:49 pm

    It has been my thought all along that your art and humor will definitely make you rich…hope that won’t turn you into a Magnificent Maximilianus.

Leave a Reply

