Skip to content

Minimalism and life design

February 5, 2011

Follow your bliss, they say.  I am hugely into the design of my life.  I want to follow my affinities and my passions to their most dramatic and fulfilling conclusions and then continue on to transcendence.

This would be much easier if I knew what my passions and affinities were.

I suppose a lot of the time I’m waiting to discover what I love so I can pursue that love to the far edges of our unknowable universe and, by loving my loves, fulfill my destiny.  I’d like to say that I’m slowly culling the chaff from my life and using my elite minimalist aesthetic and philosophy to hone in on a vision of my ultimate self.  Instead, I’m watching a lot of Instant Play on Netflix.

I guess, at some point, I’ll have to give up on waiting and pick something to love (however flawed and incorrect and unwise) and just freaking MAKE. IT. GO.

 

The brunette climbs the vine of life.

31 Comments leave one →
  1. February 5, 2011 5:07 am

    WONDERFUL post/drawing today! I loved the effect of scrolling down and seeing the little surprises at the bottom.

    Have a delightful weekend. 🙂

  2. February 5, 2011 8:04 am

    I’ve been browsing thru your blog ever since you left comments on my blog and I must say, I find your words and honesty very worth my while. Thanks for sharing. The doodles are especially AWESOME! hahhah..

  3. February 5, 2011 8:20 am

    My favorite drawing yet! And truthful sentiments. Thanks, MM!

  4. Emily permalink
    February 5, 2011 8:51 am

    loving it! keep up the good work!

  5. February 5, 2011 12:27 pm

    Psssst. Don’t fall down…your discarded possessions are waiting to kill you.

  6. February 5, 2011 12:28 pm

    I love this one. Really love it.

    (I don’t know what I want to be when I grow up, either.)

  7. February 5, 2011 12:40 pm

    Great read. Yes, find it and go…it works!

  8. February 5, 2011 1:32 pm

    Epic picture is epic.

  9. February 5, 2011 1:52 pm

    Is that poor little mug still on the chopping block?

  10. February 5, 2011 6:53 pm

    Sounds like you have an affinity for writing, and for being hilarious. Combine them and write a comedy novel complete with drawings?

  11. February 6, 2011 2:49 am

    I’m definitely agreeing with the last comment. Your writing and doodles are brill and I’ve been sat here chuckling to myself for the last few minutes, (lots of quizzical looks from my lot as mammy doesn’t chuckle to herself unless she’s going to have a meltdown…) Anyhoo, this poses a dilemma, if you were to publish a book, where would you keep it oh magnificent minimalist ;P
    Will be back…dragging my life’s clutter behind me (oh sorry) …erm my children behind me….and the cat…the chickens….oh yes the husband….(oh for a little white room)

  12. February 6, 2011 3:12 pm

    oh have to agree with Beau Gamble – comic novel and tee shirts.
    great post and excellent art.

  13. February 8, 2011 3:00 pm

    Oh man! I just discovered your blog by poking around the blog hop and debsmansellini had a link to your blog… I love it! And I could swear you plucked this post out of my head, my life! I want to live with passion, but have yet to figure out what my Passion is! Thanks for sharing this!
    Rosa

  14. February 9, 2011 6:32 pm

    One fine day, when I become the brave woman I am (inside), I will promote your blog on my Facebook. I do not have a lot going on there…a minimalist’s dream you could say.

  15. Jen Sanders permalink
    April 13, 2011 5:39 pm

    HAHA! I totally relate to this post!!!! (That’s right bitches, 4 exclamations)

    Netflix instant play and I are old friends. I should be sniffing flowers and gazing at kittens or something like that. Instead, I have watched:

    All seasons of: Scrubs, Arrested Development, Dead Like Me, Pushing Daisy’s, Medium, Brothers and Sisters, Dexter, Nip Tuck, 30 Rock, Dead Zone, Bones, Rescue me, Weeds…WOW. No wonder I’m not fulfilling my destiny. I’m a TV-Whore.

    In my defense I’m a stay at home mom with no kid at home. It’s lonely without my TV friends.

    Whatever.

    Love you blog.

  16. Jen Sanders permalink
    April 13, 2011 5:39 pm

    HAHA! I totally relate to this post!!!! (That’s right bitches, 4 exclamations)

    Netflix instant play and I are old friends. I should be sniffing flowers and gazing at kittens or something like that. Instead, I have watched:

    All seasons of: Scrubs, Arrested Development, Dead Like Me, Pushing Daisy’s, Medium, Brothers and Sisters, Dexter, Nip Tuck, 30 Rock, Dead Zone, Bones, Rescue me, Weeds…WOW. No wonder I’m not fulfilling my destiny. I’m a TV-Whore.

    In my defense I’m a stay at home mom with no kid at home. It’s lonely without my TV friends.

    Whatever.

    Love your blog.

  17. Jen Sanders permalink
    April 13, 2011 5:39 pm

    HAHA! I totally relate to this post!!!! (That’s right bitches, 4 exclamations)

    Netflix instant play and I are old friends. I should be sniffing flowers and gazing at kittens or something like that. Instead, I have watched:

    All seasons of: Scrubs, Arrested Development, Dead Like Me, Pushing Daisy’s, Medium, Brothers and Sisters, Dexter, Nip Tuck, 30 Rock, Dead Zone, Bones, Rescue me, Weeds…WOW. No wonder I’m not fulfilling my destiny. I’m a TV-Whore.

    In my defense I’m a stay at home mom with no kid at home. It’s lonely without my TV friends.

    Whatever.

    Love your blog.

  18. Jen Sanders permalink
    April 13, 2011 5:40 pm

    Holy shit! Why did it post my comment so many damn times?

Leave a Reply

