Skip to content

Can’t sleep. Bareness will eat me.

February 17, 2011

They say that minimalism is all about ridding yourself of the encumbrances of your stuff.  Everything you own, says them, has an upkeep associated with it–dusting, storing, space, and guilt.

 

And they’re right.

The thing is, now that I’ve gone through and gotten rid of all of my things, I feel the emptiness closing in around me.

 

That’s why I’m painting my walls with every vivid color I can lay my hands on.

 

The brunette paints.

 

 

 

 

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 17, 2011 6:54 pm

    I’ve never big fan of them. I say minimalism is about getting rid of the stuff that doesn’t mean anything to you and only keep the things in your life that hold significance. Hope you can fill the emptiness. ❤

  2. honganjames permalink
    February 17, 2011 8:15 pm

    Have you read David Bachelors’ Chromophobia?

  3. February 17, 2011 9:46 pm

    I am so jealous.

  4. Cecile permalink
    February 18, 2011 12:43 am

    Ah, the emptiness. The same emptiness we feel even if we fill our homes with stuff.. you can’t win.

  5. February 18, 2011 2:35 am

    What Cecile said! The stuff was just covering up emptiness that was always there. Ugh!

  6. February 18, 2011 4:00 pm

    I love the colors. When you’re finished, how ’bout coming over and painting my house? I’ll even get rid of my stuff…

  7. February 24, 2011 11:32 am

    Looks like you’re getting to the heart of it. Getting rid of physical items is only a small first step. I think you just inspired me to write a post 🙂

Leave a Reply

