Skip to content

Encumbering emptiness

February 21, 2011

One of the embarrassing facts about minimalism is that you reduce your stuff and reduce your stuff… until one day you realize that you have entire rooms that are extraneous, and no idea of what to do with them.

 

The brunette shrugs outside of her extraneous room.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. February 21, 2011 11:48 am

    Awwwww….so forgive me for my ignorance,until reading your posts, I knew nothing about minimalism, but when you have empty rooms, what do you do? Does being a minimalist mean you have to downsize your house, apt, etc? Just curious…

    • February 21, 2011 1:13 pm

      Oh no! I’m, like, the worst place to look for learning about minimalism. 😉 A far better source is http://www.missminimalist.com/ ; she’s the real deal. But, to answer your question in all seriousness, it depends on a number of factors: how extreme a minimalist you are, what options your financial situation will allow, what functions you can think of for each room, and how well you like that empty space. I own my house, so when I find an empty room, I try to determine a use for it and go from there.

  2. February 21, 2011 12:49 pm

    I don’t think that’s embarrassing. I think it’s very telling. How many people have multiple rooms in their houses just for their extra stuff?

    You don’t HAVE to downsize your home but, with all that extra space, what’s the point in holding on to it? Unless you have one extra room and now it’s empty and you want to turn it into a yummy oasis to relax in. ;o)

    • February 21, 2011 1:14 pm

      You know what I find even more telling? Rented storage space. *shudder* I just turned an empty room of mine into a library, and I love it, love it, love it.

  3. February 21, 2011 1:59 pm

    I had a rented storage for the past 9 years! I finally freed myself of it about 6 months ago- and it feels Great!! I’ll never go back!

  4. February 21, 2011 6:57 pm

    aaahhhhh I see-that makes sense and seems pretty practical to me. Cool beans…and I’ll def check out the link…thank you for introducing me to this way of living…I have kids so I don’t know if it’s a lifestyle I could adopt but I’ve really started to respect and admire people who do. love your posts, always 🙂

  5. dhaami permalink
    February 21, 2011 11:08 pm

    You do give me something to think about. Minimalism is not something I have embraced yet but have been thinking about seriously in the past few months as the prospect of yet another move is depressing me to no end. However I am still struggling with the idea of parting with stuff. Mainly for the ‘money spent on it’ factor. I can see the long term benefits and yet..do you have any inspirational tips to overcome this hurdle? 🙂

    • February 22, 2011 7:06 am

      dhaami,

      Sell as much as you can on eBay or Amazon. Or just have a yard sale. That way you will make some cash in the process. Then whatever doesn’t sell can be donated and you’ll get a tax break on that come tax time next year. There are always options ;o)

      Good luck!
      Brianne

    • February 22, 2011 10:04 am

      Oooh!

      Well, here’s one article (from the magnificent FLYLADY) that helped me a lot:
      http://www.flylady.net/pages/Flying_MovingTips.asp

      I think that one of the things that makes us hold on to our stuff is guilt. We spent money on it, it’s still perfectly good, and we might need it someday. (Or the person who gave it to us will feel less loved if we get rid of it.)

      My take on it is that the work you’ll save and the freedom you’ll experience when you hurl that stuff out of your life will be worth waaaaay more than the sixty dollars you spent on the item to begin with.

  6. February 22, 2011 12:56 pm

    I hope it’s the winged fairies. 🙂

    I saw in one of your comments that you turned an empty room into a library. I did that too. I love it.

Leave a Reply

